Current Moon Phase

Waning Gibbous Moon
Waning Gibbous Moon

The moon is currently in Gemini
The moon is 16 days old

Distance: 60 earth radii
Ecliptic latitude: -1 degrees
Ecliptic longitude: 73 degrees
Image of the Day
  • No items.
  • Weather

    Total Lunar Eclipse Jan. 20, 2019

    TOTAL LUNAR ECLIPSE SUNDAY, JANUARY 20
    Maui will get to experience the first Total Lunar Eclipse of the year on Sunday, January 20, 2019
    The NASA page says Jan. 21 because they report eclipses using Universal Time UT which is 10 hours ahead of Maui.
    On Sunday the 20th, the Moon will be rising in the east around 6:00pm while in eclipse! Should be cool. 
    Look to the east!  Totality happens at 7:12pm and Moon should appear orangish.
    Here are the times of the eclipse in HST Hawaii Standard Time and Universal Time UT
    Heather may have a gathering to view this and will be in touch.  Hope you get to see it!!!  …… Becky Sydney
     
    Eclipse starts Jan. 20: 4:36pm HST  2:36am UT
    Moon in Shadow 6:41pm HST 4:41am UT
    Maximum eclipse 7:12pm HST 5:12am UT
    Moon leaves umbra 7:43pm HST 5:43am UT
    Moon in penumbra 8:50pm HST 6:50am UT

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *